How to Get a Free Affidavit of Loss

download

Losing something is hard, but securing a replacement for it is even harder. I remember the last time I lost my wallet with my IDs in it, I was more bothered with the fact that I will have to start over to secure the same than the loss.

The very common requirement to get replacement for identification cards, ATM cards and any lost documents is an Affidavit of Loss. It’s a legal document, notarized, and declaring that such item was lost and all the legalities.

Securing an Affidavit of Loss though could be a pain most of the time, especially due to the fee it incurs. Most legal offices charge P100 per page; kind of an insult to the injury considering you already lost something.

But do you know that you can get an Affidavit of Loss for free? Yes, I only recently found out about it. You can get a free Affidavit of Loss at the Public Attorney’s Office (PAO). That means I lost something to know that too, my SSS ID.

So here’s how:
(This is for those living in Cebu City; though other cities may also have the same setup)

1. Go to the Cebu Provincial Capitol.
2. On the left side when facing the Capitol, follow the street leading to the second and third white buildings.
3. Follow the sign that says Public Attorney’s Office (PAO). It’s at the side part of the second building.
4. PAO’s door can easily be mistaken as a window though. So if you see a little window that’s installed closely to the ground, that’s it.
5. You don’t have to bring your own printed copy of the affidavit, they already have printed ones you just need to fill them out.
6. You will be asked what your occupation is, you can be honest, though when you’re a high earner, you will be referred to the City Prosecutor’s Office to get notarized and the dry seal. (I was honest to I was referred to CPO. They are very friendly people so I think it’s not too bad. I was even given tip, that I should have said I’m a fresh graduate, or only earning minimum wage; I said I’d remember that for next time.)
7. Get it notarized and dry sealed; it’s the only thing that matters.

There you go. It may not be very preferable as simply going to a legal office and request of the affidavit, but for me, I don’t mind the little extra effort if I can get it for free.

Photo from http://www.i-lost-it.co.uk/lost.asp

One thought on “How to Get a Free Affidavit of Loss

  1. Pingback: How to Apply for SSS UMID Card Replacement | Almost 30

Leave a comment